RSS

Highway Humdrum

17 Aug

As my family drove down the highway to Williamsburg, Virginia, I looked into the cars we passed.  I know, sounds a little weird; but I am the analytical type who enjoys people-watching.  Anyway, as I looked at them for those brief moments, I prayed for them.

15 miles an hour isn't fun.

15 miles an hour isn't fun.

Some were smoking; some were messing with their phones as they drove.  Some were arguing with their passenger; some were just venting. Most looked tired and bored.

Where are they going? I wondered.  Do they know Christ?  What do they think about God? 

It is interesting to see what bumper stickers reveal about the vehicle’s owner.   Who they voted for, whether they are pro-choice, pro-life, in favor of gay marriage, and their opinion about the origin of life.

I want to be the kind of someone who listens to them without judgement.  I am going to be the someone who loves them just because they are worthy of love, even if they don’t seem like it.

…because, heck, even I don’t have very much of life figured out.  I know God and trust Him. Period. So I can understand and give allowances to people who don’t know how life works.  I can even bear people who think they do.

…because, as Pastor Adrian said, “Life is not a problem to be solved, but a mystery to be lived.”

Livin’ the mystery.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 17, 2009 in Vibrant Life

 

Leave a Reply

 
