RSS

I am really doing this.

28 Aug

Hello, my name is Sarah, and I am a human rights’ advocate. I have been working in that field for all of a month.

I am organizing a benefit concert on my campus to raise money and awareness about slavery and human trafficking in the world today.  Did you know that there are more than 27 MILLION people caught in slavery at this moment? Yes, it is illegal.  Yes, it is still happening.

The proceeds from the concert (tentatively scheduled for mid-November) will be donated to the organization Stop the Slavery.  One thing I love about Stop the Slavery is that they are committed not only to freeing those trapped in slavery and helping them begin new lives, but also to shutting down the conditions that makes slavery accepted in the community in the first place.  You can find out more about their cause at their website

I can’t say which bands will be playing, as that is still in the works.  But I can tell you it will be one face-meltingly awesome concert.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 28, 2010 in This Just In

 

Leave a Reply

 
