RSS

Surely goodness and mercy are following me.

19 May

 

A few minutes ago, there was a knock on our door.

My husband looked at me and said, “Who could that be?” People don’t usually just pop over to see us (which reminds us of the time a policeman showed up at our door…I might tell you that story later). I answer it, and our associate pastor and his wife walk in, carrying boxes full of the most beautiful thing I have seen in a long time.

Now, some of you know that my husband lost his job two months ago, and that it has been rather stressful to watch our carefully saved up emergency fund (thank you for baby step #1, Dave Ramsey!) slowly sink lower and lower. My husband, especially, has felt discouraged in job hunting for something suitable for him. This is what our fridge looked like today.

fridge

Not exactly as full as I, the chef of the house, like to keep it.

So imagine our surprise as we saw that the boxes were full of groceries. Really, SO much food!!! Groceries

There was chicken and beef, canned veggies, grapes, bananas, strawberries, blueberry muffin mix, mixed nuts, and so much more! God bless them, they even got us a bag of little chocolates filled with caramel. I’m sure by now my mother is crying as she reads this. I am pretty sure it was the equivalent of three weeks of groceries for us.

Apparently, someone in our church who knew we were going through a rough time wanted to help us. Anonymously.

To that person/couple/family, we say thanks.

And I think God is smiling.

 

“Surely your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me
All the days of my life,
And I will live in the house of the Lord forever.” ~Psalm 23:6

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 19, 2014 in Vibrant Life

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Surely goodness and mercy are following me.

Leave a Reply

 
