RSS

My Last Meal

22 May

One thing I learned this year is that chefs love to ask each other this question:

If you were able to choose your last meal before death, what would you eat?

I don’t know why this is a big deal for them, but the last supper question comes up a lot. There is even a book with famous chefs’ answers to the question. Here is a link to a slideshow of their final meal ideas. As I read through them, I couldn’t help but think, “What in the world are some of these foods?” Even in our language, they sound foreign and exotic. Gigantic spider crabs? Black truffles? Seaweed soup? Snipes? (Those actually exist?!)

Just this year, I learned how to make tomato bisque, biscotti, and french bread. This year, I tasted creme brulee for the first time. I used a grill for the first time, and used the “broil” setting on my oven for the first time. I made whipped cream by hand and found out that the French way of cutting onions made me cry less.

Oh sweet advanced culinary experience, where have you been all of my life?

Because of exploring this new world of unusually delicious food, there are some new foods on my radar of things to cook someday: risotto, figs with goat cheese, souffle, and ratatouille.

But okay, I will answer the question myself. With my 20 closest friends/family, I would eat the following food:

I would want to eat pasta. Not just any pasta, but freshly-made angel hair noodles with shrimp, scallops, and crab in a cream sauce that is not too lemony. It would have tiny diced tomatoes in it, too. And be served with soft, hot bread with butter.

With it, I would drink orange koolaid.

For dessert, I would have a slice of the lemon-blueberry layer cake with buttercream icing that was served at my bridal shower.

I would finish it off with a small cup of tea. Rooibos with milk.

Quite filled and happy, I would die in peace.

What would you want your last meal to look like?

Who would be with you?

Bridal shower

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 22, 2014 in Food (Noms)

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “My Last Meal

  1. mkdanielle

    May 22, 2014 at 1:12 am

    I LOVE ratatouille! And risotto. And goat cheese. And figs. But I’ve never had them together. =P

     

Leave a Reply

 
